Pocatello

This past weekend was one of the best weekends I’ve had in a long time! I got to spend four wonderful days with the most amazing man and we got to celebrate his birthday!

Flying into Salt Lake City on September 11 was a little strange honestly.  It almost felt irreverent to be flying on that day, but at the same time, why should your life stop because of an act of terrorism 13 years ago?  It was an odd paradigm for me that had my stomach in knots until I was safely on the ground in Utah and in his arms.  He has quickly become that safe place for me, that just hearing his voice and being in his presence can calm me in a way that nothing else matters.  He provides that peace and security I crave.

Friday we went to Craters of the Moon National Monument which was beautiful.  It was different than what I imagined, but gorgeous.  We hiked close to 16 miles and the weather was perfect – chilly but sunny.  The most interesting thing we saw were the hollowed out trees from when the lava burned the tree but preserved the shape.  It was incredible!  That night we went to my favorite pizza chain, Mackenzie River Pizza, which I had thought was just a Montana thing, but there is one in Idaho!  At dinner we learned that we would be able to see the Northern Lights that night and tried to get high enough out of town to see them, but unfortunately we weren’t able to see them, so we just went home.  It was a LONG but beautiful day.

Saturday we ran a few errands, toured campus & went to breakfast. We watched a lot of football and just relaxed which is how weekends in the fall should be spent.  I felt so at home and relaxed in his apartment and enjoyed just spending time doing life like we will when we’re no longer long-distance.  It is the most comfortable and natural relationship I’ve ever had.  I am head over heels in love and cannot wait to build a life with him.  Saturday night we went over to his friends’ house for dinner and ended up playing cards against humanity which just showed me what a great sense of humor his friends have.  I felt completely comfortable with them and welcome, which was reassuring.

Sunday we went to Lava Hot Springs which was so relaxing! I can’t wait to go back to the hot springs when the weather is cooler, the air is crisper and the steam will really rise off the pools of naturally hot water.  I think it will become one of my favorite places to escape to.  After the hot springs, we ran a few errands and then went home to relax and watch more football.  It was a perfectly relaxing day celebrating the man I love’s birthday in a low-key, simple way.

Monday, he got up and went to work and I tried to help out around the house doing laundry, fixing lunch for the week, etc.  I also got some research done for work.  I hated having to leave him and wanted nothing more than to stay.

I can’t wait to go back to Idaho at the end of October and fall even more in love with the state and they city to which I’m trying to move.

Idaho, you are slowly capturing my heart and I look forward to learning more of your personality as a state and discovering your beauty.

One thought on “Pocatello

  1. Pingback: Happy Birthday William | Sarah Elizabeth

Leave a Reply

