Christmas Movies

This list of movies are ones I watch every year between Thanksgiving and Christmas.

The Holiday – In the last year or so, this movie has become my second favorite Christmas movie. I adore the plot, the cast is so lovable and it just puts me in the absolute best mood.

Holiday Inn – This is another older Christmas movie that I just love. The singing and dancing, the plot, the cast – its brilliant.

White Christmas – My personal favorite Christmas movie. I watch it first every year to kick off the season and it is simply the most delightful holiday film. Whenever it snows outside, I always hear the song from the train in my head.

Miracle on 34th Street – As much as I adore the original, the one I’m talking about is the 90s remake. It is the Christmas movie that reminds me of being a kid and growing up. I loved the whole movie and find it just as magical now as I did when I was younger. I especially love the ending where Susan gives the judge a dollar that highlights “In God We Trust” as a defense of Kris Kringle – genius!

The Santa Claus – This is a Christmas classic in my mind. Tim Allen playing Scott Calvin who becomes Santa and his son’s journey to accepting that and helping his ex-wife and her husband believe in him and something bigger? It’s such a great one and always makes me want a cup of hot cocoa!

Dr. Seuss’ How The Grinch Stole Christmas – The original cartoon was watched every year as a kid and often at our school Christmas parties.  It reminds me of childhood and is a short one that we watch every year.

Twas the Night Before Christmas – Another cartoon classic that we watch every year.  It stars a family of mice who have to find a way to fix the mess the town is in so that Santa will still come.  It is cheesy, but a good short cartoon if you don’t have much time to watch a movie.

Elf – This is our family’s favorite film. We roll with laughter and make references to it all year long in our daily conversations. One year (a few years ago), my brother would only watch this movie when he got to choose what we were watching. If you have not seen it, you need to – its hilarious.

Mrs Santa Claus – Angela Lansbury in a musical set in early 20th century New York City dealing with child labor, immigration and the suffrage movement? LOVE it!

Any of the Clay-mation movies, but not The Little Drummer Boy.  The Little Drummer boy freaked me out as a kid and I’ve never gotten over it.  But I love Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer, Santa Claus is Coming to Town, The Year Without a Santa Claus, etc.

What are your favorite Christmas movies? Have you started watching them yet?

Leave a Reply

