Passion

I am passionate about so many things in my life.

I am passionate about growing up a military kid and the unique experiences that that brings.  I would love to work with adolescents going through the life changes that are not only brought on by hormones, but from this lifestyle. I am passionate about adolescents in general and know that I want to go back to school so that I can work with them as either a school counselor or mental health counselor.

I am passionate about history and interacting with it through original sources and visiting locations where major events occurred.  I love how history connects us all and discovering individuals’ stories who aren’t as widely known.

I am passionate about learning mine & William’s genealogy and building our family trees so that we can see where we come from and the stories of generations past.  Connecting our families to events that shaped the world we live in today fascinates me.  I also adore the shows Who Do You Think You Are, Genealogy Roadshow and Finding Your Roots because they bring genealogy research to TV.

I am passionate about reading and getting lost in a story.  Writers who draw you in enough that you dream about the characters and think about their story long after you read the last page are a beautiful gift.  I love talking about books and sharing the ones I love with friends and family.

I am passionate about my family and would fiercely defend them if I needed ‘to.  They are the people in my life who I know will always be there.  Both the family I was born into and the one I’m going to become a member of in October.  Family is so important and I am passionate about mine.

I am passionate about my family that was built in college through Kappa Alpha Theta and the family I am able to easily become a member of no matter where I am because of our alumni network.  While it has not always been rosy perfection with Theta, it helped me grow into who I am today and I am so thankful for Bettie, Bettie, Alice and Hannah being leading women in 1870 and banding together to create the first Greek-letter fraternity known among women and for setting the precedent for each of us to be leading women today.

I am passionate about my friendships.  Treshia once told me I “collect people” meaning that when someone becomes my friend, I consider them a friend for life and will always do everything I can to support, encourage and love them.  Loyalty and friendship are hugely important to me, and once you’re my friend, you always will be no matter what life events may happen.

I am passionate about the marriage I am entering into.  I don’t believe in divorce and know that it is not an option.  I am passionate about spending every day doing life with my best friend and partner and going through the ups and downs of life hand in hand.  I am passionate about loving and serving each other in the special ways that only we can and about knowing how to build each other up and maintain an attitude of joy and laughter and love in every day ahead of us.

I am passionate about my faith and the tenets of social justice that Catholicism adheres to.  If you read the Bible, you will see so much hypocrisy in the way we represent it’s teachings today.  I am passionate about loving my neighbor, serving my community, caring for those in need and treating others with respect, dignity and compassion.  The Bible tells us to leave judgement to God and to love the people of the earth the way that he loves us and I know that the world could use a whole lot more love.  Love is in the way you share a smile in the market or bringing your neighbor’s dog back when they get out or baking bread for a new neighbor.  To love others well doesn’t require dramatic gestures or making a big deal out of your actions through social media, but in having your heart in the right place and finding little actions to love others well.

I am passionate about more, but I know that I can explore the other areas in future posts too.

Brave Love Blog

Leave a Reply

