Best Day of My Life… So Far

I previously wrote about the best weekend of my life, but here is the excerpt about the best day:

Back in December William told me he wanted to take me to New York for my birthday – I have been SO excited for this trip and have always wanted to visit the city, but had never been.  I truly just thought this trip was the nicest birthday present anyone had ever given to me, other than my parents giving me life 26 years ago!

Friday morning we met Laura in our hotel lobby to walk to the closest Sarabeth’s for a delicious breakfast!  I had the “goldie lox” which was scrambled eggs with cream cheese and lox, multigrain toast with some of their famous preserves and a cup of coffee.  It was SO cold this weekend that coffee was an everyday, multiple times a day treat.  After breakfast, we caught the Subway over to the Strawberry Fields entrance to Central Park to explore 10 blocks of the west side of the park on our way to the American Museum of Natural History.

We took pictures at various points along our walk, so it wasn’t unusual to me when we were taking pictures by the Cherry Hill fountain – little did I know that William was about to get down on one knee and ask me to spend the rest of my life with him.  I didn’t believe that it was actually happening because he’d been telling me to research locations in Glacier National Park to propose in June!  That man really threw me off track with that!  Of course I said yes while crying and laughing and reacting with full-body physicality of emotion.  I’m not sure what all I said, so if you want to know, you’ll have to ask him – I spent most of the day in shock that I now had a fiance!  After the proposal, we explored more of the park seeing the Bow Bridge, Bethesda Terrace, The Ramble and the Loeb Boathouse.  It was a beautiful walk through the park with clear sidewalks and snow on the ground.

When we made it to the museum, after paying our entrance fee, we found a quiet bench on the top floor to call our parents and share with them our news!  Everyone was expecting a phone call because they’d all known it was coming!  I told William’s parents that their son proposed and they responded with, “we knew that – but what did you say?”  That reaction made me laugh!  After the phone calls were over, we spent over 7 hours exploring the museum and still didn’t see everything!  It was such a great day of learning and exploring and we both loved the show we saw on the Dark Universe!

That night we went to a tapas restaurant and enjoyed delicious wine and food and celebrated the decision we made to spend our lives together.  We had two bottles of our favorite style of wine, mencia, and many different tasty tapas, but our favorite were the mushrooms!

The day William asked me to do life with him as his wife was easily the best day of my life so far. I feel so honored that I get to spend every day tackling life with my best friend, partner and favorite person. I wouldn’t want to have it any other way.

Brave Love Blog

2 thoughts on “Best Day of My Life… So Far

  1. Oh, this is such a beautiful story. You totally got me when you wrote about the proposal! I hope you two have a gorgeous wedding and a wonderful live together. New York must be a really special city to be asked to marry!

    By the way, I love your blog. It is truly awesome and so interesting! So, I have nominated you for the Sisterhood of the World Bloggers Award. I would love if you could check it out here: http://theflashwindow.weebly.com/all/sisterhood-of-the-world-bloggers-award

    Sincerely,
    Vera

    http://theflashwindow.weebly.com -The Flash Window
    https://www.bloglovin.com/blogs/-flash-window–12782683 – Bloglovin

    Like

    • Thank you so much Vera! New York definitely became extra special that trip – I can’t wait to go back!

      Thank you for the award too – I’m headed over to check it out now!

      Like

Leave a Reply

