Wedding Day

I went to bed around 11 the night before, but couldn’t sleep and woke up around 1:30. I laid in bed staring at the ceiling for 30 minutes before getting up, making myself a mug of tea and curling up on the couch to watch Project Runway. Around 4, I finally went and showered and woke my sister and cousin up so they could get ready before we left to grab Starbucks and pick my mama up from the hotel. We had a 6:00 appointment at the salon to get our hair and makeup done. My favorite part of getting ready were the flannels we all wore – perfect for the time of day and time of year – even if the day ended up having a high of 85!

After hair and makeup (which we were running a little late from) we drove to the country club where William and his dad were already waiting to begin pictures. The photographer met me in the area where we were getting dressed and she began snapping away as soon as we were ready to get my dress laced up. After getting into my dress and putting my shoes on, Sandy brought me a present from William – a pearl necklace that he chose because the size and color of the pearls best matched the pearl bracelet my parents had given me for high school graduation! His letter he wrote was so sweet and thoughtful and the necklace looked beautiful with my gown and birdcage.

After I was completely ready, we did a first look on a little bridge over the river on the golf course – it was so chilly, but I was so excited to see William in his suit and for him to see me. It was such a sweet time with just the two of us before the craziness really began. After our first look, we met up with our parents and my sister to take some pictures under these beautiful golden trees -I could not have asked for more perfect fall scenery!

Once pictures were done, it was time to get me back to the room to warm up a bit, fix my lipstick, use the restroom and breathe before the ceremony. Before I knew it, it was 10:00 and time for the ceremony to begin and my dad to walk me down the aisle to Edelweiss played by a sweet cellist from the local university. The ceremony was short and sweet with my brother and William’s sister each doing a reading and the judge reading both “The Art of Marriage” and the Irish Blessing before our vows. The recessional was to Home by Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeros which sounded really beautiful on the cello.

For the next thirty minutes we took pictures with our family while the other guests grabbed mimosas, bloody marys and ceasars and found their seats. Then my dress was bustled and it was time for our first dance to In My Life by The Beatles, which William sang to me the whole time. It was sweet and perfect and it felt like we were the only two people in the room. Then, my daddy and I had our dance where we both started crying the minute we began. After, my daddy walked me to my seat while William and Sandy danced which was so sweet to watch. Then it was time for toasts by my sister, William’s dad and my daddy before my daddy blessed the food and we could begin eating our delicious brunch spread. When everyone was winding down with their meal, we cut the cake and dancing began.

Watching William’s sister teach my mama different dances was the best! Growing up, especially when my brother was in middle school, she loved to learn the latest dance trend and she got down at the wedding which I loved!

We took more pictures under the beautiful golden trees and before I knew it we were exiting with leaves being thrown down on us and getting in my daddy’s Audi and driving home. It was a whirlwind!

We had a few hours to ourselves before everyone came over to our house for an open house to watch the Alabama/Arkansas game and continue the day’s festivities. With everyone in town for such a short amount of time, we wanted to spend as much time was we could with everyone. Mavis was such a sweetheart with everybody being here and even though I don’t think I saw William at all until everyone left, I enjoyed how full our home was with the friends and family we love so much.

Around 10:30 we finally collapsed into bed knowing we had another early morning Sunday to say goodbye to people leaving and get the caravan on the road for those who were coming with to Jackson, Wyoming and the Grand Tetons.

2 thoughts on “Wedding Day

  1. Pingback: 2015 Reflections | Sarah Elizabeth

  2. Pingback: Favorite Blog Posts – Sarah Elizabeth

Leave a Reply

