Joy Lately

Joy has been my word for 2015 and a joy-filled year it has been!

Though we are only just into the month of November, I thought I would share 10 things that have brought me joy so far this month.

  1. Celebrating one month since we said “I do” with our family & friends. I can’t believe how quickly this last month has flown by, but it has been a wonderful one! Being able to call William my husband brings me so much joy. I love the life we are building together and the dreams we share.
  2. Picking Mavis up from day care. Mavis Jane is easily the silliest dog I know. She just radiates joy, but having her come barreling at you after playing with friends all day because she is SO excited to see her people is extra special. I love being able to let her run around and play all day when we’re at work, and the joy of reuniting at the end of the day is extra sweet.
  3. Chestnut Praline lattes are back at Starbucks. These drinks are my favorite Starbucks treat and it is such a simple joy to enjoy one in the mornings, especially when the air is crisp and chilly and they’re such an occasional treat and not an everyday indulgence.
  4. Baking. Baking has always been how I like to de-stress or celebrate something. I have really enjoyed baking this month so far and hope to do more of it throughout the holiday season.
  5. Writing Thank You notes. While it is taking me quite awhile to write them all, I am loving it. I love getting to thank our friends and family for bestowing their love, blessings and joy onto our marriage.
  6. Cooking. William and I have been teaming up in the kitchen and trying new recipes this month and I have been loving that time together at the end of the work day, playing and experimenting and making something delicious for us to share.
  7. I have begun buying William’s Christmas gifts which is joyful because they are things I know he wants or needs and I enjoy the opportunity to show him I’m thinking about him and that I hope to make this first married Christmas memorable and special.
  8. Decorating. While I love autumn and decorating for autumn, I was ready to decorate for Christmas by Halloween. Maybe, it’s because I began decorating for autumn over Labor Day or maybe because of all the planning for autumn wedding decorations over the spring and summer, but I have been loving making our home cozy and full of Christmas cheer. We have a few items to get still – wreaths, the tree, stockings, a table cloth – but I have been loving decorating with smaller items so far!
  9. Reading. I have been taking time to read more this month. Both books and magazines have been a part of every day, when they fell by the way side in both September and October.
  10. Our home. There truly is no place I love more than being home is leggings and over-sized t-shirts with my husband and our dog. It is the most joy-filled place and I love it. I am so thankful for our home and my family and the comfort and love they bring.
2 thoughts on “Joy Lately

Leave a Reply

