Ulcerative Colitis

First day of high school junior year I fell of the bus getting off at the end of the day. Little did I know this seemingly insignificant event would change my life.

That event caused the doctors to learn that I have Ulcerative Colitis –Β an inflammatory bowel disease that causes long-lasting inflammation and ulcers in myΒ digestive tract.

My Ulcerative Colitis has defined what I can and cannot eat since November of 2005 when my first colonoscopy confirmed my diagnosis. I haven’t always listened though and my intestinal tract has laughed at me for choosing to not listen. It has also shown me what stress can do to my body, because when I am under intense stress, I have a flare up.

Luckily, my stress levels have dramatically decreased now that I have a full-time job, wedding planning is over and life has settled. 2015 has been havoc stress wise. Most of it has all been good stress, but stress-inducing none the less.

Today has been one of the bad days where the cramping and bowel movements make you cry they hurt so bad. Most days I can get through it with my medication and some days I forget I even have UC. Then days like today happen that make you thankful your office is across the hall from the water closet and hoping you hit every green light on the drive home. Days like today suck.

So, tonight I will get out my heating pad and some extra strength tylenol and fix myself a pt of peppermint tea. Then, I’ll crawl in bed and snuggle with my husband and dog and hope tomorrow is a better day.

Leave a Reply

