Mix Tape of My Life

I’ve seen this idea floating around on several blogs over the years, so I don’t remember where I was inspired to do it myself, but I thought it would be a fun mid-week post to look at songs that have defined key parts of my life in one way or another.

Spoonful of Sugar – Mary Poppins was my favorite movie as a kid. So much so that I wanted to name my sister Rum Punch when my mama was pregnant with her.

Tale As Old As Time – Beauty & the Beast was the first movie I saw in theaters and I have loved it ever since. This was the song my dad danced with me to during our daddy-daughter dance at our wedding.

Edelweiss – My dad used to sing this as a lullaby growing up. He would stand in the doorway after turning out the lights and sing Edelweiss before shutting the door. So, when it came time to choose a song for him to walk me down the aisle to, this had to be it.

She’s In Love With the Boy – If you asked me when I was a young girl (through 4th grade!) who my favorite singer was & what my favorite song was it was always Trisha Yearwood & She’s In Love With the Boy. I still love this song and get so excited on the rare occasion it’s on the radio!

Sweet Home Alabama – I first remember Mrs. Howell playing this song on the last day of school before Thanksgiving break in 3rd grade. Then I spent my freshman year of high school in Alabama where we learned this song in band camp and they played it at every pep rally on every Friday in the fall. It became one of the two songs I associate with that year of high school, which was actually my favorite year of high school. It always kills me when a local band tries to play this song and messes it up.

Shake Ya Tail-feather – So, this is the other iconic freshman year of high school song in my mind. I remember one of the schools from Montgomery’s band played this song during half-time at a football game and our band directors telling us very sternly not to dance on the sidelines. Every time I hear it I remember my friends from Alabama and how we would play it to dance to at every sleepover.

Somebody Like You – I adore Keith Urban. I’ve seen him twice in concert and think he is a fantastic performer. This is one of my favorite songs to play with the windows rolled down on that first nice spring day after winter.

Don’t Stop Believing – This was the song that was blasted on bid day on the drive from the stadium to the house and as soon as we got to the house to celebrate. It became the song that was played at every function and whenever one of us was having a bad day. This song is so Theta to me.

Montana – Having graduated from the University of Montana, I had to include the state song in this list. I graduate both high school & undergrad in big sky country & Montana was the first state I chose to live in, so it will always be a special place to me.

Montana, Montana,
Glory of the West
Of all the states from coast to coast,
You’re easily the best.
Montana, Montana,
Where skies are always blue
M-O-N-T-A-N-A,
Montana, I love you.

Chasing Pavements – I adore Adele and this is the first song of hers that I would put on repeat and listen to over and over again. But I love every song of hers, so I could have filled this list with just her.

Black & Yellow – My parents both grew up in Pittsburgh, and thus we have always thought of Pittsburgh as home. We were raised to be fans of the teams from the city of champions & that love for the black & yellow of the steel city runs deep in our blood. The first thing that attracted me to Kappa Alpha Theta were that their colors were black & yellow – Pittsburgh colors. Obviously, through the recruitment process that changed, but that first impression was all about that black & yellow.

God Gave Me You – I remember listening to this song for the first time while doing homework in the dining room of 1020 Gerald and falling in love with it. We used this as the song for the anniversary dance at our wedding and I find the lyrics to be so sweet.

Barefoot Blue Jean Night – This song makes me want to dance and celebrate summer. I first heard it over spring break my senior year of college in Auburn and it became my favorite song that first year out of college. Summer of 2014 when Rae and I saw Jake Owen in concert, I was most excited for him to play this song.

Young, Wild & Free – This song makes me think of my final semester of college. It was easily the most fun semester I had because I realized it was all coming to an end and tried to take advantage of every opportunity to enjoy the people I was with and my final months and weeks in Missoula.

I Will Wait – I learned of Mumford & Sons from following my now husband on Twitter back when I still lived in Montana. I didn’t really fall in love with them until I moved back to Colorado though. something about moving home & struggling to figure out who I was, what I wanted to do & who I wanted to be connected to the sound of Mumford & Sons and I’ve been hooked ever since.

In My Life – This is the song that William and I used for our first dance this past October. William is a huge fan of The Beatles and much more in tune with music than I am, so I wanted him to choose that song. The message of this song feels so right for our relationship and I get so happy every time I hear it.

Home – This is the song we had our recessional to once we were announced as man & wife. We also quoted this song on our wedding favor koozies. It just makes me want to celebrate every time I hear it.

2 thoughts on “Mix Tape of My Life

    • Thank you! I know – I have a great dad! He even sang along under his breath as he walked me down the aisle through his tears. Sweetest moment ever!

      Like

Leave a Reply

