2016 Goals

Happy Tuesday! December started off crazy busy and culminated in a week & a half of hibernation with William & Mavis, which was just what we all needed! 2015 was BUSY and so very full, that ending itΒ at home being cozy was perfect.

Looking at the year that lays ahead, it seems like it will be calmer and more low-key than 2014 and 2015. We won’t be traveling as frequently and are really going to focus on our home and our family.

Right before the holidays we had a fence put up and it has been wonderful! Being able to just let Mavis out back first thing in the morning and last thing at night is a little luxury to me, but being able to all be out back together while Mavis plays fetch and jumps around just being silly and happy makes me happy. While expensive, it was a great investment for our property and our family. This year we are hoping to get some landscaping in – when we moved in, there was nothing but dirt. Now we have some grass (need a bit more out back), a rock retaining wall and our fence. HUGE outdoor improvements in about 6 months!

We do have a few trips planned – William’s brother is getting married to his sweetheart in May and we’re going with his parents and siblings on their annual beach vacation in July. We’re also going to take a long weekend trip to visit my family in Colorado over the summer and try to spend a long weekend in Portland & Bend, Oregon. We also want to visit Yellowstone, the Grand Tetons and Rocky Mountain National Park and maybe spend a couple weekends around Boise.

Keeping that in mind, I have chosen the word Nourish for 2016. According to Merriam-Webster, NOURISHΒ means:

  • to provide (someone or something) with food and other things that are needed to live, be healthy, etc
  • to cause (something) to develop or grow stronger

So, in creating my goals for the year, I wanted them all to tie back to the definition of NOURISH and I could reflect that word in my daily life.

  1. Read through the Bible. While I read the Bible often, I have never read through it cover to cover and I know there are several books that I’ve never spent any time in. So, this year I found a PDF plan from She Reads Truth from 2015 that will walk me through it day by day.
  2. My Lenten promise is to be meat-free and spend those 46 days eating a vegetarian diet. It’s taking the Lenten tradition of meatless Fridays a step further.
  3. Go skiing! It’s been years since I went, so William & I are going to take lessons to enjoy a day on the mountain.
  4. Go white water rafting. My last trip was in 2014 and it’s always a fun way to spend a summer day.
  5. Complete the year’s Tone It Up Challenges. I am the heaviest I have ever been and I want to spend 2016 getting back in shape so I feel confident in my body again.
  6. Lose 60 pounds. Honestly, I’d like to lose more, but 60 pounds averages to 5 pounds a month, which seems doable.
  7. Study for & pass the Miller Analogy Test.
  8. Apply to the university’s graduate program in Mental Health Counseling. In 2013 I started work on a master’s degree in Marriage & Family Therapy, and while I don’t think I want to pursue couple’s counseling, I still desire to become a counselor & work with clients, especially adolescents and women.
  9. Read/Complete 52 books. There are a couple books I started reading right before the turn of the year, so I’m going to count those as they’ll be completed this year. This goal is very ambitious, but I don’t feel like I read enough in 2015, so I wanted to issue a strong challenge to myself.
  10. Make all family recipes from my shower. For my luncheon/bridal shower that my sweet sister and mama hosted the day before our wedding, they asked every invitee to send in two recipes. So this first year of marriage I want to work through the recipes our family and friends chose so lovingly.
  11. Complete couch to 5k and couch to 10k.
  12. Make Gluten-free French bread. My mama’s best friend Anne also has issues digesting gluten and for our wedding, gave us a GF cookbook full of different breads to try. She also gave us a tortilla press which has been fun to play with & the tortilla recipe is fantastic! She also gave us the necessary bread pan to make french bread, so I’m excited to try and master that this year.
  13. Watch 12 documentaries. I really enjoy documentary style films, but don’t feel like I watch enough, so I want to try and watch one a month for the year.
  14. Take William on 12 fun dates. I want us to get out and do something once a month that I plan as a surprise for my husband.
  15. Learn Spanish. William and I both are using Fluenz to learn Spanish. The last Spanish class I took I was in 6th grade, so it’s been awhile, but with my dreams to go into counseling, being at least conversational is a vital skill to have.
  16. Learn to crochet.
  17. Learn calligraphy.
  18. Visit somewhere new.
  19. Make creme brulee.
  20. Visit 3 National Parks.

What are your goals for the new year? Do you have any book recommendations or suggestions of things to do in Portland or Bend, Oregon?

3 thoughts on “2016 Goals

  1. So many fun goals here! We put in a fence exactly a year ago and being able to let the dog out was the best thing ever.. totally worth the crazy amount of $$. I actually just got back into crocheting and I forgot how easy it was, you can definitely do it.

    Like

    • Just added to my reading list! School counseling would actually be a dream, but there aren’t many opportunities in our small Idaho town.

      Like

Leave a Reply

