Sisterhood of the World

I was recently selected by Vera of The Flash Window for the Sisterhood of the World Bloggers Award. Thank you for that kind honor Vera. I’ve enjoyed reading your blog and the blogs of the other women you selected.

The Rules:

Thank the blogger who nominated you, and link their blog on the post.
Put the logo on your blog post.
Answer the questions sent to you.
Nominate between 5 to 10 other bloggers.
Make up ten new questions for your nominees.
Picture
The Questions
1. If you could go anywhere in the world, where would you go?
 I think I would make it a longer trip and start in Iceland, then head to the United Kingdom to visit England, Wales, Scotland and Ireland before heading up to Norway, Sweden and Denmark. William and I are planning a delayed honeymoon to Iceland and have discussed adding time on to visit the United Kingdom, too.
 There is so much more of the world I want to see too, but right now I am most interested in visiting the Scandinavian countries and the United Kingdom.
 2. What is your favorite book?
 To Kill a Mockingbird. I’ve said it a lot on here, but the way courage is defined and discussed deeply influenced my understanding of that character trait. To be able to stand up for something because it is the right thing to do despite it being unpopular or to take on a task that you know will be a failure simply because it needs to be done is a quiet courage. It won’t bring you fame or applause, in fact it may bring you hatred or distrust, but to do it anyway and hold your head high, that is courage.  Courage is doing the right thing solely because it is the right thing to do.
 3. Which language would you love to learn?
 I would love to become fluent in French. I took four years in high school and a semester in college, but I didn’t work to keep it up. I loved reading in French best and learning their history. I take pride in my ability to still hold my reading comprehension of the language, but my ear and tongue are gone.
 Practically speaking, being at least conversational if not fluent in Spanish would be ideal in America. Especially with my desire to become a counselor, there is a need in the Hispanic community for the same services and care, but because of the language barrier, I would not be an ideal fit for those clients.
 4.  If you could meet anyone, dead or alive, who would that be?
 Oh, goodness this list is a mile long! Can I cheat and pick someone alive and someone dead?
 Alive, I’d love to meet Condoleezza Rice. I wrote all of my college entrance essays about her back in 2006 and I just truly admire her. I love that she would rather be an educator than a politician and sees the value in serving the students who are in her class. She served as Secretary of State when she was called to and gracefully exited the political arena to return to the classroom. She is an advocate for Boys and Girls clubs and sees value in the next generations. I would love to talk with her about her whole life – from growing up in Alabama in the 1960s to her diplomatic experiences with other global leaders and her passion for the classroom and education. I would love to sit down for coffee with her in a relaxed one-on-one and talk like friends instead of an interview style.
 Dead, I’d love to talk with my maternal great-grandmother who came to America from the former Yugoslavia, modern-day Croatia. She came here as a teenager around the outbreak of World War I and met her husband who came from Austria, but whose records show was from Italy. Sadly, they didn’t share much about why they came over or what life was like for them in their home countries with my grandmother or mother. She remembers helping them study for their citizenship test and working on their English, but they were very much insistent on focusing on the present and future and not the past. Ideally, I’d love to have a big family gathering with each of my ancestors who were the first ones in America to know why they left their lives and sometimes families behind to come here. I’d love to know their stories and what made their eyes sparkle. It would be a cultural meting pot of foods and language, but somehow we’d all be able to understand each other and relish in our being together across generations.
 5. Favorite blogs?
 I have many blogs I read, but my very favorites are Sarah from Back Home Blue, Kelly from Kelly’s Korner, Shay from Mix and Match Family, Lauren from Aspiring Kennedy and Kiki from Unlocking Kiki.
 I’ve been reading Sarah’s blog since she was a student at the University of Tennessee and first began blogging. I found Kelly’s blog when her daughter Harper was in the NICU and now she’s seven! I started reading Shay’s blog following her brother’s season of The Bachelor, but really enjoy reading about her travel adventures and life as an adoptive family. Lauren is working on an advanced degree in London where she lives with her husband and two kids and I love her recaps of travels and trying new places for tea. Kiki lives in Iceland with her Viking and takes the most gorgeous pictures of her adventures around that dreamy Scandinavian country and her other travels as well.  Kiki’s blog has me wanting to pick up my life and become an expat in Iceland too – or at least plan a very extended adventure there where I can go hiking in a glacier and on a volcano, chase waterfalls, watch the Northern lights and cuddle puffins.
6. What movie are you looking forward to seeing?
 
7. What are your worst pet peeves?
 I hate when people chew with their mouth open, purposefully ignore you or are rude.
 8. If you could see your future, would you?
 Honestly, no. I think the element of surprise that comes with each day is beautiful. Besides, if you saw what the future held, how would you guarantee making the necessary choices to see it’s fulfillment?
 9. Favorite quote(s)?
 “As you grow older, you will discover that you have two hands, one for helping yourself, the other for helping others.” Audrey Hepburn
 “For beautiful eyes, look for the good in others; for beautiful lips, speak only words of kindness; and for poise, walk with the knowledge that you are never alone.” Audrey Hepburn
“The beauty of a woman is not in a facial mode but the true beauty in a woman is reflected in her soul. It is the caring that she lovingly gives the passion that she shows. The beauty of a woman grows with the passing years.” Audrey Hepburn
 10. What do you love the most about blogging?
 I love how it allows me to write about things that interest me and connect with others who share those interests. I love that it keeps my family and friends involved in our daily lives as they can live through our trips and adventures with us through my writing.
Leave a Reply

