Stranded with Books

img_0297img_1100

Oh books! I agree with the several posts I’ve read stating that in seriousness they would bring their Bible, a seafood/camping cookbook and a survival guide. Those are the intelligent choices of course, but I think its more fun to select works of fiction that can transport you to another time and place.

Since we’re on an island, one of the books I’d bring would be Island of the Blue Dolphins – one of my favorites from childhood. Not only would the book be relatable to my situation since the girl in the book is also stranded on an island, but it is just a really lovely story of a young girl who used her knowledge and strength to survive a situation that should have crushed her.

Honestly, the more I think about it, all three books I would bring are ones I read as a child. There was something so magical and transformative about books for me growing up. Books were especially captivating on the long road trips we would take across country or when we moved somewhere new and didn’t have many friends yet. Books introduced me to new times, places and ways of life so foreign to what I knew, while introducing characters who felt so familiar.

The second book I would bring is Little Women. The story of these four sisters and their relationships with eachother and the world around them is such a sweet look at the powerful bonds of family. I loved the strength of Jo, the power of her friendship with Laurie and the faith these characters had at a time when their father was gone and a war was raging on. Now granted, this is a book that I prefer to enjoy by a cozy fire on a cold winter’s night, but I wonder if I wouldn’t get something different out of it re-reading it as an adult, let alone on a beach. However, I think what I love most about Little Women is a quote that rings so very true for me, “I like good strong words that mean something…”

The third book I would bring would be Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone. My Grammy bought me the first two books to read the summer between 4th and 5th grade. I set them aside at first since a story about a boy wizard did not sound like something I would enjoy; I was much more interested in Little House on the Prairie, Anne of Green Gables, Little Women and The Witch of Blackbird Pond – books about girls in a different time that I could relate to. Then, the first week of 5th grade in our Scholastic Reader weekly, there was an interview with JK Rowling and an excerpt from Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone – I was instantly hooked and began reading the first book that night. Since that day the magic of the world JK Rowling created has captured me outright. I find myself dreaming of Hogwarts still 17 years later. The movies, music and theme park are all incredible and brought another dimension to the world of Harry Potter, but I don’t know that anything can quite capture how truly magical that initial wandering into this new world was.

So, those are the three books I would bring; what would you take with?

 

2 thoughts on “Stranded with Books

  1. Stopping over from the link up! I seriously LOVE every single book you mentioned in here (not just your top three picks!) And I really love your writing style! You can tell you are incredibly passionate about books and I love that. Hope you have a great day!

    Like

Leave a Reply

