More About Me

About

I have a soul that yearns for adventure, a heart that seeks to love the world & a brain easily captivated by story.  I dream in black & white. I’d love to live in a perpetual autumn. My dream home is made of stone & filled with a love of laughter & learning.  I grew up an Air Force dependent and have lived in North Dakota, Virginia, Colorado, Alabama, Montana, Idaho and Washington D.C. The best part of growing up was moving to new places and learning about different areas of the United States and the cultures that exist in each area.  I am a graduate of the University of Montana, a social justice loving Catholic & a member of the first Greek letter fraternity known among women – Kappa Alpha Theta.  My husband, William, & I got married on 10.10.2015 and adopted our sweet shelter dog, Mavis, on 07.24.2015.  I work as an administrative assistant at a university, but have interests in digital communication and counseling. I am passionate about rhetoric, history and political science. I think it would be really interesting to look at how the rhetoric of mental health has changed throughout history, and is still changing, and how that rhetoric impacted policy decisions on a local, national and global level.

Things I love

Being married to William, bubble baths, puppy snuggles, a strong cup of coffee, traveling, tea, getting lost in a good book, laying by the fire, laying in the sunshine, candles, time with family, homemade meals, family walks, netflix, elephants, a clean house, fresh bedding, handwritten letters.

A few more random things about me

Where was the last place you traveled to?

In-country: Jackson, Wyoming. Out of country: Bari, Italy.

If you were stranded on a deserted island, what are three materialistic things you’d want with you? 

  1. An endless supply of sunscreen for my porcelain skin.
  2. A big, floppy sun hat.
  3. Sunglasses.

When was the last time you tried something new, and what was it? 

I try new recipes all the time with William; our most recent new recipe was either the Carolina style barbecue chicken or the Asian apricot chicken.

 

What is your earliest memory? 

Kissing my friend Joe at one of our birthday parties when we were around 2 or 3.

If you could eat only one thing for the rest of your life, what would it be? 

Fruit or sushi.

Do you like your first name? If not, what would you change it to? 

I hated it as a kid because there were always so many of us – in first grade there were 5 Sarahs in my class! I love how my name connected me to my dad in us sharing initials though – I’ve always though that was a special bond between us. For a longtime I combined my first and middle name, Sarah Elizabeth, and went by Sarahbeth. As an adult though, Sarah fits. It is classic and simple and I think suits me perfectly.

Would you rather be the person asking the questions in a conversation or the person answering them? 

I like both actually. I love conversations that seem to have just begun but last hours because the rhythm and flow with someone else is so in-sync. I love deep conversations that make you think and feel and stay with you for days after – just like the books I enjoy!

If you could give yourself one gift, what would it be? 

I would love to have the ability to communicate with everyone I meet in their language.

If you had to live in a place where only one season existed year-round, what would that season be? 

Autumn. I’ve said before how much I would love to live in a perpetual autumn where the temperatures are perfect, the daylight lasts just long enough, the cooler nights call for cuddles and getting cozy and the foods, scents and activities all center around those autumn classics – apples, pumpkins, football and celebrating the crispness in everything!

If money was no object, what would you do all day? 

I would write and cook and spend time with my family. When I wasn’t home I’d be traveling the world seeing and experiencing something new at every opportunity.

Author: Sarah Elizabeth

I have a soul that yearns for adventure, a heart that seeks to love the world & I'm easily captivated by story.

One thought on “More About Me”

Leave a comment