27 Year Playlist

I thought it would be a fun challenge to select one song from every year of my life and put them on one playlist. Some years were really easy to pick one song and others were really difficult. Each song came out that year, even if I didn’t discover it until later.

1989: This was a tough decision between If Tomorrow Never Comes by Garth Brooks or Song of the South by Alabama, but I have always been a really big Alabama fan, so Song of the South won out for me.

1990: Friends in Low Places, Garth Brooks

1991: She’s In Love With the Boy, Trisha Yearwood – this was my favorite song for YEARS and it’s still one I have a strong level of fondness for.

1992: Boot Scootin’ Boogie, Brooks & Dunn – we used to dance to this a lot in dance class and it was the first line dance I learned in elementary school.

1993: A Whole New World – I saw Aladdin in theaters 3 or 4 times and I loved it!

1994: XXXs and OOOs (An American Girl), Trisha Yearwood

1995: This was a tough decision between Dust on the Bottle by David Lee Murphy, I Like It, I Love It by Tim McGraw, Sold by John Michael Montgomery and Check Yes or No by George Straight. They are four songs I still love to this day, but I think Check Yes or No wins for me, you just can’t deny King George.

1996: One Way Ticket (Because I Can), LeAnn Rimes

1997: Wannabe, Spice Girls – they were one of the first music choices I made based on something I heard listening to music at a friend’s house instead of with my family. They introduced me to current pop music at the time.

1998: This was the year I really started getting into music and when I was looking at the Billboard 100 and Country Airplay lists I could have selected so many songs from either that I started singing as I read them, but Wide Open Spaces by the Dixie Chicks was one of my favorites that year and my go to karaoke song for years!

1999: Genie In a Bottle, Christina Aguliera

2000: This was a choice between Come On Over Baby (All I Want is You) by Christina Aguilera and My Next Thirty Years by Tim McGraw and Christina won. I loved her!

2001: This was a choice between Born to Fly by Sara Evans and When I Think About Angels by Jamie O’Neal, but Sara Evans wins. I think I made my dad repeat this song constantly on our move from Washington D.C. to North Dakota that summer!

2002: Somebody Like You, Keith Urban – he remains one of my favorites and someone I will always be willing to see live; what an incredible performer!

2003: Shake Ya Tailfeather, Nelly, P.Diddy & Murphy Lee – this song will forever transport me back to Friday nights in Prattville with the band. I also really loved Sweet Southern Comfort by Buddy Jewell.

2004: Mayberry, Rascal Flatts – my sister and I used to sing this song often and scream the line about cherry coke.

2005: That’s What I Love About Sunday, Craig Morgan

2006: Summertime, Kenny Chesney – we played this song daily while hanging out by the river before our senior year.

2007: These Are My People, Rodney Atkins – this song takes me back to first semester freshman year of college.

2008: Whatever You Like, T.I. – oh man, I loved this song and when those cute kids from Atlanta rewrote the lyrics to be about the 2008 election? Obsessed.

2009: It’s America, Rodney Atkins – I saw him in concert with friends fall semester junior year and this song was one of the ones I sang all summer and was so excited to hear him perform live.

2010: American Honey, Lady Antebellum – I sing this song all the time and most of the time I start singing it subconsciously.

2011: This was a tie between two Wiz Khalifa songs, Black and Yellow and Young, Wild & Free. Black and Yellow I loved because of my connections to Pittsburgh and Kappa Alpha Theta. Young, Wild & Free was one of my favorite songs spring semester senior year of college when I felt young, wild and free. I also really loved Barefoot Blue Jean Night by Jake Owen and I think he wins.

2012: Drunk on You, Luke Bryan was the song of the summer for my sister and I, especially since we saw Luke play the Greeley Stampede that year.

2013: Get Your Shine On, Florida Georgia Line – My friend Johanna and I saw them at Bands in the Backyard and they were so fun that the next summer I saw them again in Cheyenne with my brother, his girlfriend and my sister.

2014: This was my year of concerts – Jake Owen, Florida Georgia Line, Bruno Mars… but my favorite song was American Kids by Kenny Chesney.

2015: See You Again by Wiz Khalifia – I first heard this song the week my PapPap passed and a few weeks later our dog who we’d had for 15 years passed away. This song helped me process that grief. I also really loved the new Alabama Shakes album and Adele albums that came out this year and would choose both of those albums in their entirety if I could.

2016: Die A Happy Man by Thomas Rhett has been my favorite so far this year, though I have also really liked Love Yourself by Justin Bieber and One Call Away by Charlie Puth.

What are your favorite songs from your life?

Leave a Reply

