Favorite Movies: 2000s Edition

I thought it would be fun to take each year of a decade and show you my favorite movie from that year. I posted about the 2010s last week.

2000: Remember the Titans – I still remember meeting my mom’s preschool co-teacher’s neighbor and her telling us how they were making a movie about her son. It was a random enough comment to an 4th grader who was trying to be polite to a stranger, but that movie they were making about her son was Remember the Titans. When we lived in Virginia, there was also a movie being made about my sister’s friend’s grandfather – We Were Soldiers. Its amazing how much more I enjoy these movies having met people who actually lived it.

mv5bmtcznta2mdc0of5bml5banbnxkftztywmtg4mdy2-_v1_uy268_cr00182268_al_

2001: Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone – Pure magic seeing the world from these books and your imagination come to life. I still find this movie absolutely magical!

mv5bmtywntm5ndkznv5bml5banbnxkftztywodq4mzy5-_v1_uy268_cr60182268_al_

2002: A Walk to Remember – One of our sweet neighbors in Minot gave me this book for my birthday in seventh grade and I loved it, so when the movie came out later that year I had to see it. I still find it a very sweet movie.

mv5bmtm1mtyznja3m15bml5banbnxkftztcwmjk2nte4mg-_v1_uy268_cr20182268_al_

2003: Finding Nemo – Not only does this movie make me laugh, but I remember being in geometry class in Alabama and having to make three dimensional hanging projects that were creative in telling a story. My friend Audra did hers all about Finding Nemo and I think we watched this movie for 24 hours straight alternating between English, Spanish and French!

mv5bmty1mtg1ndaxov5bml5banbnxkftztcwmjg1mdi5nw-_v1_ux182_cr00182268_al_

2004: The Incredibles – We took my brother to see this for his birthday and our whole family just loved it. When it was on TV over the weekend, my husband and I stopped to watch it because its just that good!

mv5bmty5otu0otc2nv5bml5banbnxkftztcwmzu4mdcymq-_v1_ux182_cr00182268_al_

2005: The Chronicles of Narnia: The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe – My third grade teacher gave me this series at the end of the year for reading the second most books in class. I still have them and they are inscribed “Love Mrs Howell” and I loved the magical world they took me to as a child. Now as an adult, I love the layers to these stories.

mv5bmtc0ntuwmtu5ov5bml5banbnxkftztcwnjawnzqzmw-_v1_ux182_cr00182268_al_

2006: The Devil Wears Prada – Another book I loved that I knew I needed to see the movie. This is the only movie that I think is better than the book. Even with the fashion and trends in this film being 10 years old, I still find it flawless.

mv5bmtmynjk4njc3nv5bml5banbnxkftztcwndkymtezmw-_v1_ux182_cr00182268_al_

2007: Ratatouille – This is one of my husband’s favorite movies; how could you not enjoy a movie about cooking and friendship told by a rat?

mv5bmtmzodu0ntkxmf5bml5banbnxkftztcwmjq4mzmzmw-_v1_ux182_cr00182268_al_

2008: Definitely, Maybe – This is just a sweet movie that makes me smile and a good winter day chick-flick.

mv5bmtc1mzc1odmxmf5bml5banbnxkftztcwndy1mzu1mq-_v1_uy268_cr50182268_al_

2009: The Proposal – Another movie I caught on TV this weekend while cleaning and watched. This movie makes me laugh out loud and I just think the chemistry of the cast as an ensemble is hilarious.

mv5bmtu1mzy1odiynv5bml5banbnxkftztcwndu4nte3mg-_v1_ux182_cr00182268_al_

What were your favorite movies from this decade?

 

12 thoughts on “Favorite Movies: 2000s Edition

    • It helped me narrow down my favorites; though some years were hard to choose just one! So I went with the ones I seem to watch over & over again.

      Liked by 1 person

    • Do it! Now that the shows I enjoy watching in the evenings are over, I feel like I’ll be watching more movies mid-week!

      Like

  1. I’m totally with you on the Devil Wears Prada being better than the book!! I loved most of Mandy Moore’s cheesy movies like how to deal, chasing liberty and A Walk to Remember!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I agree! I really like her too; I also love Because, I Said So! Are you going to watch the fall show she’s in on NBC?

      Like

  2. Pingback: Favorite Movies: 1990s Edition – Sarah Elizabeth

  3. Pingback: Favorite Movies: 1980s Edition – Sarah Elizabeth

  4. Pingback: Favorite Movies: 1970s Edition – Sarah Elizabeth

  5. Pingback: Favorite Movies: 1960s Edition – Sarah Elizabeth

Leave a Reply

