Goodreads Tag

goodreads

I saw Jenn of Lost in the Right Direction post this tag awhile back and loved it so much I saved it for a post idea!

What was the last book you marked as read?

Creativity, Inc: Overcoming the Forces That Stand in the Way of True Inspiration by Ed Catmull.

What are you currently reading?

Paris 1919: Six Months That Changed the World by Margaret Macmillan.

What was the last book you marked as ‘to read’?

History’s People: Personalities and the Past by Maragret MacMillan.

What book do you plan to read next?

Probably something more light-hearted, but I’m not sure what…

Do you use the star rating system?

I do! It helps me keep track of what I liked so I can offer solid recommendations to people in the future.

Are you doing a 2016 reading challenge?

Yes! I challenged myself to read 52 books this year and have read 19. I have a lot of reading to do in the next couple months if I want to hit 52!

Do you have a wish list?

Yes! I am constantly adding books I want to read to my list. To buy hard copies of I tend to want historical nonfiction or nonfiction in general. Novels are fun, but I prefer to borrow those from the library or a friend.

What book do you plan to buy next?

Apollo’s Angels: A History of Ballet by Jennifer Homans sounds really interesting to me right now.

Do you have any favorite quotes? share a few.  
The only quotes I saved on Goodreads are from The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants (a favorite series from when I was a teen!) and A River Runs Through It:
“Maybe, sometimes, it’s easier to be mad at the people you trust because you know they’ll always love you, no matter what.” – Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants
“Eventually, all things merge into one, and a river runs through it. The river was cut by the world’s great flood and runs over rocks from the basement of time. On some of the rocks are timeless raindrops. Under the rocks are the words, and some of the words are theirs.
I am haunted by waters.” – A River Runs Through It
“My father was very sure about certain matters pertaining to the universe. To him all good things – trout as well as eternal salvation – come by grace and grace comes by art and art does not come easy.” – A River Runs Through It
“One of life’s quiet excitements is to stand somewhat apart from yourself and watch yourself softly becoming the author of something beautiful even if it is only a floating ash.” – A River Runs Through It
“In our family, there was no clear line between religion and fly fishing. We lived at the junction of great trout rivers in western Montana, and our father was a Presbyterian minister and a fly fisherman who tied his own flies and taught others. He told us about Christ’s disciples being fishermen, and we were left to assume, as my brother and I did, that all first-class fishermen on the Sea of Galilee were fly fishermen ad the John, the favorite, was a dry-fly fisherman.” – A River Runs Through It
“At sunrise everything is luminous but not clear. It is those we live with and love and should know who elude us. You can love completely without completely understanding.” – A River Runs Through It
“At the time I did not know that stories of life are often  more like rivers than books.”  – A River Runs Through It
“The world is full of bastards, the number increasing rapidly the further one gets from Missoula, Montana.” – A River Runs Through It
Can you tell which book spoke to me the most junior year of high school and has stayed with me ever since? The fact that I went to college in Missoula where A River Runs Through It takes place only increased my love.
Who are your favorite authors? 
I have always been a big Philippa Gregory fan, as are my Grammy and Aunt. I also really enjoy Erik Larson, David McCullough, and Ken Follett. I enjoy reading authors like Shauna Niequist, Jen Hatmaker, Lysa Terkhurst, Beth Moore and Mark Batterson too.
 Have you joined any groups?

I joined a group called Pearls and Prose years ago, but it hasn’t been active for four years.

How many shelves do you have?

11.

Do you use Goodreads?

4 thoughts on “Goodreads Tag

Leave a Reply

