Senior Year

I saw Mel answer these questions recently and I thought it was fun to read about her senior year.

I graduated high school TEN years ago come beginning of June, so I thought this was appropriate this year. I went to three high schools in three states, but graduated from the high school I did junior and senior year at in Montana.

1. Did you date someone from your school? 

In high school I never dated boys who went to my school. Freshman year I dated a boy from a rival high school the next town over, sophomore year of high school I dated a college freshman home on breaks, junior year I dated a boy who went to military school out of state and senior spring I started long-distance dating the same boy I dated freshman year. Boys were never a big focus for me in high school; they were more friends than crushes for the most part.

2. Did you marry someone from your high school? 

No. I married the senior I had a crush on from my freshman year of high school in a different state.

3. Did you car pool to school? 

Yes! I drove my sister & her best friend most days. They were freshman.

4. What kind of car did you have? 

I drove my parents red Honda Accord. I loved that car & how resilient it was to a new driver!

5. What kind of car do you have now? 

Ford Focus.

6. Its Friday night. Football games or Party? 

Football game! And basketball in the winter. My senior year was spent with lots of school spirit and at many school sporting events.

7. It is Saturday night? 

I babysat most weekend nights in high school.

8. What kind of job did you have in high school? 

Summer before senior year I worked at the Dairy Queen and babysat. Fall of senior year I worked at a pizza & sub shop. Spring semester senior year I was a Human Resources intern at a local credit union.

9. What kind of job do you have now? 

I’m an administrative assistant for an academic department at a state university.

10. Were you a party animal?

Not at all! I was too driven and sheltered to even think about it!

11. Were you considered a flirt?

Not at all! At least, I don’t think so.

12. Were you in band, orchestra, or choir?

Not senior year. The other three years I did both marching band and concert band and junior year was in all-state orchestra. The summer before senior year started my private oboe instructor passed away suddenly in a private plane accident and I couldn’t bring myself to play my oboe that year.

13. Were you a nerd?

I don’t think so. I was more of a floater. I had friends across cliques.

14. Did you get suspended or expelled?

Lord no! I never got in trouble.

15. Can you sing the fight song?

Yes! I can do both the original song from when the school was founded and the current version. The original was to the tune of the Alabama fight song and the current version is to the tune of Magnificent Seven.

16. Who was/were your favorite teacher? 

I adored all my teachers, but especially loved my AP teachers Mr Clapp for Literature & Mr Halverson for Government. I also really enjoyed our journalism teacher, Miss B, who I had for both yearbook and newspaper!

17. Where did you sit during lunch? 

A window booth.

18. What was your school’s full name? 

Charles Marion Russell High School, also known as Charles M. Russell High School, Russell High School, & CMR.

19. When did you graduate? 

2007.

20. What was your school mascot?

A Rustler, but our symbol was the cattle skull.

21. If you could go back and do it again, would you? 

I really enjoyed senior year. I actually really enjoyed all but 10th grade a lot. Although, I much prefer my life currently!

22. Did you have fun at Prom? 

I did! I went with my best friend at the time and a group of our close friends. Because we were the class of 007, prom was James Bond themed. After prom, our group went back to my house for fondue and a James Bond movie marathon.

23. Do you still talk to the person you went to Prom with? 

I don’t. We dated through most of college and right after graduation and had a pretty nasty breakup.

24. Are you planning on going to your next reunion? 

No. I am Facebook friends with some people I graduated with, but since my family moved away the week of graduation, I never returned home on breaks to see anyone, so I don’t see a point. I also only went to school with them for two years, so it’s not like I grew up with them.

25. Do you still talk to people from school? 

Some through Facebook or Instagram. Social media is really cool that way! I love that it allows you to reconnect with people or stay in touch across time and distance.

2 thoughts on “Senior Year

  1. Fun!! I wasn’t a party animal either… the first time I found out all my friends went out and got drunk, I cried ALL. DAY. I also cried the day we deliberately came back from lunch late… because I knew it was wrong. Re. Dic. U. Lous. LOL

    Liked by 1 person

    • I definitely had my moments of rebellion too though… like sneaking off campus for lunch when I was a sophomore and skipping a class of health… I felt so guilty about both though that I went and talked to my health teacher and he just laughed at me!

      Like

Leave a Reply

