My Sick Day Necessities

Its been a long few days around here friends. I woke up Sunday with a heavy head, congested nose and scratchy throat. Telltale signs of the inevitable winter cold. Thankfully, it was a three day weekend, but then, those tend to be when my body chooses to become ill anyways.

I decided to put off my to-do list, not including laundry, and spend time just relaxing with William and trying to feel better. That meant a lot of Last Man Standing on Netflix and many mugs of tea!

Knowing that I’m finally feeling like the worst of the cold is behind me, I thought it would be fun to share my sick day necessities.

Dayquil/Nyquil. While I’m not the biggest fan of how massive these pills are, they tend to work the best for me and helping me be able to breathe.

A cozy blanket. When I don’t feel well, I need a cozy blanket to snuggle under.

Comfy pajamas. I love fun pajama bottoms & these new ones were my go-to this weekend.

ps1-wlg269

Slippers. When I’m not feeling well, my already cold feet become even colder, so soft slippers are necessary.

3f8d95567eea2f540badb40ff4d10dbe

Hot Tea. I’m convinced there is nothing more soothing on a scratchy throat or with a congested nose than a mug of hot tea to warm you from the inside out.

Lip balm. When I get congested, I breathe more through my mouth, which makes my lips dry. Thus, having a quality lip balm is vital.

Water. I always feel so dehydrated when I’m sick, so I keep water nearby at all times.

Kleenex. I will use whatever type of tissue is available when I’m in need, but with how red and raw my nose becomes, Kleenex brand is the most gentle and my preferred choice.

Lotion. I rely on lotion daily, but when sick I really use it. I love how soothing my eye cream feels on puffy eyes and how refreshing my daily moisturizer feels on my face – especially around a red nose! I love how lotion feels on my body after a hot bath or shower that just stripped the moisture from my skin. I also love how hydrating hand cream feels after washing my hands so much!

I am so thankful to have such an amazing husband who helped care for me while I wasn’t feeling well this weekend. He would make me lunch, get me medicine or water and just check on me as I worked through a couple boxes of tissues. I’m praying he doesn’t catch the cold I had, but he said his throat has been feeling scratchy too.

What are your sick day essentials?

One thought on “My Sick Day Necessities

  1. Aww! I hope you feel better soon girlie. DayQuil/NyQuil are MUSTS for me… and I love a cozy blanket. I’m still holding onto the one that I was using when I was sick last week… security blanket. lol

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

