Get to Know William

I thought it would be fun for y’all to get to know William better, so we spent one night last week with me asking him these questions and him answering. I hope you enjoy!

13411865_490047444535053_4755825798134501582_o

Favorite holiday? 

Thanksgiving.

Favorite season? 

Finter (Fall & Winter).

If you could switch lives with someone for a day, who would it be?   

Why would I want to switch lives?

If you could have coffee with someone from the past, who would it be? 

I wouldn’t have coffee, I would have whiskey and cigars with Sir Winston Churchill.

What’s the best thing that happened this year? 

Falling in love with Deutschland.

What’s the best way to decompress? 

Guiness.

What’s the weirdest word in the English language? 

There are a lot of weird words… cacophony or salubrious.

If you had one superpower, what would it be? 

I would love the sonar ability of Dare Devil; to me hearing is the most important sense. To hear a single bow draw against a cello in a crowded auditorium would be incredible!

Who do you miss most? 

Barack Obama.

Who was the last person to text you? 

Colin.

Who are three people, alive or dead, that you would have dinner with? 

Alive: Sir Paul McCartney (The Beatles), J.K. Rowling and David Kelley (Founder of Ideo and the D.School at Stanford, my personal hero.

Dead: Sir Winston Churchill, Abigail Adams (the most underrated of the founding fathers) and Judas Iscariot – the prophecy of betrayal had to be fulfilled, and Judas had to fill it.

Last book you read? 

I’m always reading about 5-6 books simultaneously, but I just finished rereading Creativity, Inc., rereading The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet’s Nest and first time reading volume three of The Last Lion. I completed all 3 within the same 24 hours.

Book you plan on reading? 

That’s crazy since I plan to read 50-70 books this year. I just started rereading The Girl in the Spider’s Web and first time reading Alexander Hamilton by Ron Chernow.

Book you read because everyone else in the world was reading it? 

The Hunger Games.

A book from your childhood that positively shaped you? 

The Invisible Man by Ralph Ellison.

Favorite TV show that’s currently on TV? 

Dare Devil or Life in Pieces.

Favorite ice cream? 

Strawberry or mint chocolate chip.

What makes you smile the most? 

Mavis Jane and her boundless joy.

First pet? 

Skillet, a half black lab, half cocker spaniel.

Worst subject in school? 

I was valedictorian, I was strong in them all.

Favorite game? 

Overwatch.

Coolest thing in the world? 

Antarctica.

Cutest thing in the world? 

Mavis Jane.

Favorite thing in the world? 

Sarah.

One talent you wish you had? 

The ability to play the cello.

One thing you still have from your childhood? 

My baptismal crucifix.

What’s your patronus? 

Thestral according to Pottermore.

Last song you listened to on your phone? 

Talk to Me by Run the Jewels.

Favorite song lyrics? 

I have two; In My Life I Love You More (In My Life by The Beatles) and Home is Wherever I’m With You (Home by Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeroes).

What song would you probably be caught dancing alone to? 

Call Your Girlfriend by Robyn.

Best gift you’ve ever been given? 

The dowry I received from Sarah’s father.

Who was your date to your prom? 

Emily, my high school girlfriend.

Favorite movie of all time? 

Ratatouille.

Favorite movie of the last five years? 

Chef or The Martian.

Movie that made you cry? 

Any movie by Pixar.

Movie that made you laugh the hardest? 

Animal House or the original Ghostbusters.

If you could make a documentary, what would it be about? 

Rediscovering the creative potential in everyone.

Favorite TV show? 

Battle Star Galactica.

If you could make a cameo in any TV show what would it be? 

I’d like to be one of the people who randomly dies on Game of Thrones.

Twitter or Instagram? 

Twitter.

Who should everyone be following right now? 

Me. @wmnorthington.

Favorite food? 

Yes or insert curry here.

Favorite dessert? 

Cheesecake.

Favorite band? 

The Beatles.

Favorite solo artist? 

Eminem.

If you could sing a duet with anyone, who would it be? 

James Roy, my maternal grandfather.

What would be the title of your autobiography? 

The World is Not Enough.

Favorite sound? 

G on a cello.

Least favorite sound? 

Alto saxophone.

Favorite animal? 

Mavis Jane.

First celebrity crush? 

Princess Peach?

Current celebrity crush? 

Emily Blunt.

What is your kryptonite? 

Heartburn.

Guilty pleasure? 

Video games.

Most proud moment? 

Finally being fucking hooded for my PhD.

Biggest weakness? 

Quick to anger.

Skill still unmastered? 

Complete fluency in another language.

What is your idea of a perfect date? 

By trying to predefine an experience you’ll probably miss out on something wonderful you didn’t anticipate.

An experience when you felt the most nervous? 

Asking for the two dozen goats and Sarah’s hand.

At what age were you the happiest? 

31? My current age is always great!

What’s one vice you wish you could give up? 

Soda.

If you could teach a college course, what would it be called? 

Are you kidding me? I’m a professor!

If you could star in any movie remake, what would it be? 

I’d rather star in something original; why does everything have to be a remake these days?

If you were an Olympic athlete, what would your event be? 

The ski jump like Eddie the Eagle.

If you could offer your 13-year-old self one piece of advice, what would it be?

Chill the fuck out.

What questions do you have for William?

2 thoughts on “Get to Know William

  1. LOL. “Barack Obama.”

    ME TOO.

    What superpower do you wish you had?

    What’s the greatest challenge we’re facing as a country today?

    Which three people would you want to have dinner with and what questions would you ask them?

    Liked by 1 person

    • The ability to absorb other people’s superpowers. 😉

      Fascism masked as populist nationalism. Xenophobia.

      Winston Churchill. Judas. Abigail Adams. JK Rowling. There are many people of all kinds I’d want to have dinner with.
      I have no idea what questions I would ask though; I’d just let the conversation flow.

      Like

Leave a Reply

