Marriage

 

14632901_531594747046989_3571345616048699849_n

What advice would you give to an engaged couple about marriage?

W: Marriage isn’t a checklist. It’s always easy and it’s always hard.

S: Travel together. It gets you out of your comfort zone and I think it makes you feel closer when you experience something new together.

How long have you been together?
W: Since May 2014

S: I don’t know if we’d say May or August 2014…

Who was interested first?
W: I initiated when we started really talking, but technically you since you had a crush on me a decade before ๐Ÿ˜‰

S: I don’t know… I think William was?

Do you have any children together?

W: No.

S: Not yet.

What about pets?

W: MJ!

S: Mavis Jane! ๐Ÿถ

Who said I love you first?

W: Probably me.

S: I don’t remember ๐Ÿ˜ณ

Who is the most sensitive?

W: Sarah.

S: I am.

Where do you eat out most as a couple?

W: Home. Why would I eat out when I’m the best chef West of the Mississippi? ๐Ÿ˜‰

S: We tend to get takeaway, but in a restaurant I’d have to say Sandpiper.

Who’s older?

W: I am.

S: William is. He was born in September 1985 and I was born in February 1989.

Who has the craziest ex?

W: I have no idea. We don’t know each other’s exes…

S: I don’t think either of us do. All of our exes are in happy, healthy relationships and we’re not in communication with many of them.

Who has the worst temper?

W: Me.

S: Neither? Maybe William because he’s more of a perfectionist than I am?

Who’s more social?

W: Mavis ๐Ÿ˜‚

S: We’re both homebodies, but have our moments.

Who is the neat freak?

W: Depends.

S: I think we both are; we much prefer when everything is in its place and everything is tidy.

Most romantic?

W: Sarah. I don’t believe in romance.

S: William is! He’s so thoughtful with surprises and planning things and just his little every day actions.

Who is the most stubborn?

W: Me.

S: We both can be, but I think he is ๐Ÿ˜‚

Who wakes up earliest?

W: Ma is ๐Ÿ˜‚

S: I try to…

Who’s funniest?

W: Me.

S: William. Hands down.

Where was your first date?

W: Spruce Mountain hike.

S: Labor Day weekend in Colorado Springs. After driving to COS from DIA we watched the Alabama game and hung out. Our first date I guess was our hike at Spruce Mountain – such a fun way to connect!

Who has the bigger family?

W: Neither? We both come from still married couples with three children, and ea h of our grandmothers are still alive.

S: I don’t know… if we’re talking immediate families, they’re the same. We’re both the oldest of three kids.

Do you get flowers often?

W: No. I don’t believe in flowers. I am fundamentally opposed to the idea of flowers.

S: No. William doesn’t like getting them because they die and he doesn’t think that’s an appropriate expression of love. I get wine or Vermont teddy bears ๐Ÿ˜‰

How long did it take to get serious?

W: Immediately. We both knew. We’re both the oldest & planners and once we started talking we didn’t stop.

S: Well, we started talking all the time in May, William came to visit for Labor Day and after that we were together pretty much every weekend that fall… I knew William was “the one” for sure during our first trip to the Grand Tetons that October…

Who picks where you go to dinner?

W: We both do.

S: We alternate. Generally we pick a type of food we want, and then decide where to eat from there.

Who is the first one to admit when they are wrong?

W: Sarah.

S: I’d like to say it’s me, but I’m not sure.

Who eats more sweets?

W: Sarah. She likes sweet pork and lots of fruit.

S: Neither? I guess William does when we have ice cream or cheesecake, but neither of us are big sweets people…

Who cries more? 

W: Sarah.

S: I do. I’m such an easy crier.

Married?

W: Coming up on two years.

S: 10.10.2015 ๐Ÿ’›

More sarcastic? 

W: Me.

S: William.

Who makes the most mess?

W: Me.

S: I’d say we both do; he does while cooking & I tend to leave a trail of things I haven’t put away yet…

Who has more tattoos? 

W: Neither. We don’t have any.

S: We don’t have any.

Who hogs the remote?

W: No one hogs it, but only one of us has appropriate tastes. (S: #rude).

S: Neither? If we’re watching tv we tend to watch shows together.

Smarter? 

W: I refuse to answer that question.

S: William is.

Did you go to the same school?

W: No; you didn’t go to Alabama.

S: For one year – my freshman & his senior year of high school.

Where is the furthest you two have traveled together? 

W: Europe.

S: Bari, Italy or Berlin, Germany… not sure which is further from Idaho.

Who hogs the bed?

W: Mavis. But I hog the covers because I mummy.

S: Mavis does! ๐Ÿ˜‚

Who does the laundry? 

W: Sarah.

S: I do.

Who’s better with the computer? 

W: Me.

S: William is.

Who drives when you are together?

W: Me.

S: William does.

Better singer?

W: Me.

S: William! It’s one of the many reasons I had a crush on him so long ago!

Middle names? 

Magnus & Elizabeth. His paternal grandfather’s name & my paternal grandmother’s name.

2 thoughts on “Marriage

  1. LOL I love this. Mavis is the most social. My dad was also into gifting my mom the Vermont teddy bears. I remember when he first found out about them, he was so proud. He couldn’t wait for my mom to get it. LOL on the covers. My husband basically mummies too… and one time, I poked him to ask if I could have some covers and his alter sleep ego said, “No. It will toughen you up.”

    Like

    • Mavis is definitely the most social. We both much prefer the company of each other to the rest of the world and can be such homebodies!

      How sweet that your dad would gift them to your mom! He started it when we were dating and we both just love them! I have seasonal ones for autumn and winter, so now I just need to find some cute spring and summer ones!

      Hahaha. “It will toughen you up.” Definitely why I keep an extra blanket on my side of the bed!

      Like

Leave a Reply

