February Reads

Queen Victoria’s Granddaughters 1860-1918 by Christina Croft

Who else is watching Victoria on PBS? I am loving it! I have always known that Victoria had a large family that married throughout all of the monarchies of Europe, but this book has been an easy-to-read explanation of each of her granddaughters and who they were. Each chapter is set-up with a quick list of who all is in the chapter and how they’re related to the Queen and each other, which is necessary since many of the cousins shared names! I really enjoyed reading about the less well known granddaughters and understanding a bit more of how the fall of the Tsar and Tsarina of Russia happened – that was really heartbreaking to read about Tsarina Alix isolating herself from her sisters and family, even when they were trying to warn and protect her. It was also sad to read how Europe was so united under Victoria’s legacy, then with her death it fractured, and with her son’s death it seemed to break. The family dynamics were really interesting, especially when it came to understanding which cousins were close, which siblings were close and how those relationships shifted and changed as marriages were made or broken and as alliances changed. If you have any interest in the royal family, this book was a quick and easy read.

17562021

Strengths Based Marriage: Build a Stronger Relationship by Understanding Each Other’s Gifts by Jimmy Evans and Allan Kelsey

My old director was really into understanding his team’s personalities, our strengths and what conditions we worked best in so that he could equip and empower us to the best of his ability. To help him understand this, he had us each take the Strengths Finder assessment and my top five are positivity, developer, arranger, empathy and individualization. So, I understand my strengths from a work perspective. This book helped me look at my strengths from a relationship perspective. I did not have my husband work through this book with me, because there was not a code to take the assessment included with the book.ย However, when I return to counseling I could see myself encouraging clients to look into this book to help with understanding of communication in relationships.

This book was provided for review by BookLookBloggers.

29492032

 

The President’s Kitchen Cabinet: The Story of the African Americans Who Have Fed Our First Families From the Washingtons to the Obamas by Adrian Miller

This book sounded so interesting – an exploration of food, history and the dynamics of the first families and the employees who fed them and their guests across the course of our country’s history. Plus, its a great book to read during Black History Month and around President’s Day, while givingย insight into a group of people who aren’t really thought of when you think of the White House.

This book was provided for review by NetGalley.

cover100001-medium

 

What did you read this month?

4 thoughts on “February Reads

  1. Great, interesting picks this month. They all sound great. My favorite read from February was The Magnolia Story by Chip & Joanna Gaines. It was a cute fun read with a lot of inspiration in there. I would recommend it to just about everyone ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh! I love that! Its definitely on my “to read” list and everyone whose read it raves about it! Their show makes me so happy!

      Like

  2. All three of these sound pretty interesting! I love English history. I want to watch Victoria and The Crown once I get some free time. I’ll have to check this book out. I’m love the Tudor era with Henry VIII and his daughters. Have you watched The Tudors? (It’s a little more scandalous than PBS shows, lol.)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

