The Defender

isfj

I was reading Brianne’s post earlier about how she is an advocate, or an INFJ, the Myers-Briggs type I used to test as. However, as I’ve gotten older, I have come to be more honest in my assessment of how I really operate, versus how I wish I did. When I took the test again, I came out as a Defender, or ISFJ, -A/-T. The description of the Defender make so much sense to me!

Defenders supposedly make up 13% of the population, and one of the lines I most identified with in the profile was, “Defenders are true altruists, meeting kindness with kindness-in-excess and engaging the work and people they believe in with enthusiasm and generosity.” I definitely feel like that describes me.

I also strongly related when it said, “Naturally social, an odd quality for Introverts, Defenders utilize excellent memories not to retain data and trivia, but to remember people, and details about their lives. When it comes to gift-giving, Defenders have no equal, using their imagination and natural sensitivity to express their generosity in ways that touch the hearts of their recipients.” My parents have always said that my memory recall and love of finding the perfect gift is something they admire in me, and it is something I enjoy doing too. Seeing someone’s face light up at receiving something that speaks to them on a heart level is magical.

Defender Strengths

Supportive – “…choosing empathy over judgement whenever possible.”

Reliable and patient

Imaginative and observant – “Defenders are very imaginative, and use this quality as an accessory to empathy, observing others’ emotional states and seeing things from their perspective. With their feet firmly planted on the ground, it is a very practical imagination, though they do find things quite fascinating and inspiring.”

Enthusiastic

Loyal and hard-working

Good practical skills

Defender Weaknesses

Humble and shy

Take things too personally

Repress their feelings

Overload themselves

Reluctant to change

Too altruistic

After reading the descriptions for each of the strengths and weaknesses, all I can say is YES. This personality type “fits” me so much better than what I thought I was.

On the page about relationships, this paragraph felt so familiar:

“When it comes to romantic relationships, Defenders’ kindness grows into a joy that is only found in taking care of their family and home, in being there for emotional and practical support whenever it’s needed. Home is where the heart is for people with the Defender personality type, and in no other area of their lives do they strive with such dedication to create the harmony and beauty they wish to see in the world.”

That sounds like me absolutely. One of the things that brings me the most joy and satisfaction is caring for my home and family, and using my actions to make them feel loved and valued through my caring for them.

I saw a fun article shared recently that connected each personality type to a literary heroine, and the ISFJ is Meg March from Little Women, which I love. That is such a good book, and Meg was always who I related to most, though I loved Jo dearly. Now it makes sense why Meg always felt the most relatable 😉

myersbriggs-13

I know that we are each much more complicated than something like this allows for, but its an area I’ve always found interesting as it can provide insight into yourself and those you are surrounded by.

I’m curious, what is your personality “type”? Do you feel its accurate?

Leave a Reply

