Reading Lately

Y'all, I have finished several books this weekend and thought I'd share them here with you! I am on a huge reading kick at the moment and loving it!

The Sweet Smell of Magnolia and Memories by Celeste Fletcher McHale

This was a sweet story of facing your past and what it means to forgive yourself and others in order to move forward. It was a story with redemption for the various characters, how to process grief and how to love people well in the midst of their mess. It was a sweet love story between a man and a woman, yes, but also between families and friends. If you want a sweet story that will speak to your soul, this is worth reading.

I received an advance copy of this book from the publisher and NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

3/5

Love Literary Style by Karin Gillespie

Honestly, this book is not very memorable. It had a trio of friends that felt relatable and they faced issues of an affair, jealously and relationship doubt. I don't like that the main character had to cheat on her fiancé in order to know she wanted him. I thought the relationships were painted very superficially and while this was an easy read, I wouldn't waste your time.

I received an advance copy of this book from the publisher and NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

2/5

Birds in the Air by Frances O'Roark Dowell

I loved this sweet book! I found myself wanting to become a quilter and move to this small North Carolina Appalachian town. I wanted to be friends with the characters. It was just a charming, satisfying read! The book is about finding yourself and your passions, finding friendships, building community and discovering new gifts. It genuinely is one of the sweetest books I've read this year, if not in even longer than that and highly recommend you give it a chance!

I received an advance copy of this book from the publisher and NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

4/5

Death on Tap by Ellie Alexander

I really enjoyed this story. I fell in love with the town and the characters and really enjoyed the insight into the craft beer world that ties everything together. While the murder isn't revealed until around chapter 12 and the discovery of the killer in the final chapters feels a bit rushed, i understand wanting to build depth of characters in starting a new series. I am looking forward to reading more in this series as they are published and looking for the author's previous series at our library.

I received an advanced copy of this book from the publisher and Netgalley in exchange for my honest review.

3/5

Too Damn Nice by Kathryn Freeman

I thought this was a cute, easy read about the courage to express love, the importance of family and true friendship, and just a sweet love story.

I received an advance copy of this book from the publisher and NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

2/5

Steal Away Home: Charles Spurgeon and Thomas Johnson, Unlikely Friends on the Passage to Freedom by Matt Carter and Aaron Ivey

Growing up Catholic, I hadn't heard of Charles Spurgeon before, but really enjoyed learning about him and his friend Thomas, a man who found Jesus in the depths of slavery and went on to preach about the profound freedom found in Christ. I enjoyed the writing style of this book, and the clear love and research that went into its creation. I love the way this book addressed depression, faith, slavery, family, calling and love. I'd highly recommend it!

I received an advance copy of this book from the publisher and NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

4/5

Queen Victoria's Matchmaking: The Royal Marriages That Shaped Europe by Deborah Cadbury

I enjoyed this look at the role Queen Victoria played in the marriages of her seven crowned grandchildren. I always enjoy books about Queen Victoria and her descendants and the incredible role the family played in the politics of Europe.

However, I did not feel like I learned anything new in this book. It is however and interesting read if you enjoy the subject.

I received an advance copy of this book from the publisher and NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

3/5

Pride and Prejudice and Mistletoe by Melissa de la Cruz

This was a fun play on the understood dynamics of relationships from Jane Austen's beloved Pride and Prejudice. I enjoyed he modern characters and found his an easy, surface read to occupy a couple hours on a cold, rainy day.

I received an advance copy of this book from the publisher and NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

2/5

2 thoughts on “Reading Lately

  1. You knocked it out of the park on the number of books you read in July! I did not do as well 🙂 I definitely would like to read Steal Away Home. I listen to a podcast by one of the author’s wife. She is singing it’s praises and with your positive review, I need to put it on my TBR! I’m hoping for an equally great reading month in August. Hope your luck rubs off on me. lol

    Liked by 1 person

    • I listen to the Happy Hour with Jamie Ivey too – she’s why I requested it through NetGalley! It’s definitely worth reading. I am thankful I was able to read so much in July, I know the rest of the year may not provide that same opportunity. I hope you are able to read a lot in August – maybe while soaking up some late summer sun!

      Like

Leave a Reply

